The joys of a Saturday French market 

This past weekend, one of new favorite aspects of spring began again for the season–the Wheaton French Market! 

The Wheaton French market begins each year around the middle of April and ends around the middle of November. It’s one of the longest running markets in the area–which is great for me, since going there on Saturday mornings is one of my favorite activities during the weekend!

So, what is a French market, exactly?

A French market is a style of open-air market with many different vendors, or stalls, selling baked goods, fresh produce, hand-made items or other wares. It is not necessarily French because of the items they are selling (although you definitely might find a crepe or croissant!), but rather the style of the market is what makes it French. Open air markets are part of the daily culture and way of life in France. Perhaps this is why I love going to the Wheaton French market so much–because it makes me feel like I am somewhere far more exotic than a suburb of Chicago!

The Wheaton French market is one of more than 80 markets owned and operated by the Bensidoun family, including 24 in France! Learn more about the Bensidoun family and maybe you can find a French market near you, too.

Here are just some of the things I love about the French market:

  1. You can find fresh flowers galore! Whether you want to purchase a hanging basket or two to add a pop of color to your landscaping, or treat yourself to a fresh bouquet of flowers to brighten up your kitchen, you can always find what you need at the French market. I can always find a big, beautiful bouquet of flowers for under $10, and it usually lasts me more than a week before it starts looking less than perfect. You can’t beat that.  Even if you’re not interested in buying any flowers for yourself, the floral stands are some of my favorite to stroll by for the sights AND smells. 
  2. There’s always new vendors to explore & new things to try! One of the fun parts about going back to the French Market each week is that there’s always a rotating cast of characters to shop from. Some vendors set up shop every week, but some are only there part of the season, or alternate between markets each week. You never know what new or unique items you might come across. Try a sample of a new pickle relish, or pick up a gourmet dog treat for your neighbor’s pet! Find the perfect piece of pottery for your aunt and squirrel it away until the holidays. It’s fun to browse and see what’s new–but it’s always better to grab it when you see it! Most vendors carry unique, one of a kind items that may not be “in stock” the next time you’re there. Some also have online stores or Etsy shops with additional merchandise, too.
  3. You can do some of your weekly grocery shopping here! Seriously, this is how I justify to myself the need to come almost each week. I grab the tomatoes we need, maybe some basil, fresh bread, some cheese (of course), but more on those later.  Fresh vegetables are the stars around here, with most of the produce coming from local farms within 150 miles or so. Michigan tomatoes! Michigan berries! Michigan everything! It’s like being back home. (Cue wistful sigh)
  4. You can visit the Cheese People. Okay, so the fact is that our local grocery store has a pretty amazing cheese section, so that keeps us going in the winter months. However, I’m pretty sure my tastebuds rejoice when it’s time to visit The Cheese People again. These are super friendly folks selling delicious cheeses made locally and in super unique flavor combinations–what could be better! My favorites are the Espresso Chipotle Cheddar and the Basil Jack. Yum!
  5. Is there anything better than a stroll around the market on a beautiful day? No! When I lived in town, I walked to and from the market. I must admit I do miss this part of the experience. Luckily( or unluckily), traffic and parking is pretty heavy on market Saturdays, so I just park far enough away now that I still get a good walk in. Hurray! Honestly though, on a warm spring day with a cool breeze, the French market is a great place to take your time and enjoy the sights, smells and sounds. You could hurry through and consider it just another errand you have to check off, but what would be the point of that? Might as well go to the grocery store. The French market is an experience to enjoy. 
  6. THE COFFEE. Okay, so the French market opens pretty early on Saturday morning at 8 am. I usually make it there between 9 and 10, and at this point, I haven’t had any coffee. Needless to say, one of the coffee stands is my first stop. I need to be properly caffeinated before I can thoroughly enjoy the rest of my day.  My favorite is the I have  a Bean coffee stand. I Have a Bean roasts and sells their coffee locally, including at the Wheaton Library! They are also a coffee company with a mission–their company strives to help provide jobs for post-prison men and women and their families. A big thumbs up from me for both delicious coffee and positively impacting the community.
  7. You can admire the rows of beautiful loafs of bread, and snag a croissant or two. Baked goods are a sturdy backbone of the French market, and for good reason–they are delicious, and inexpensive. Grab a giant baguette of French bread for $3. Munch on a croissant for breakfast and it will set you back $2. Amazing. There are some tried and true favorite vendors in the pastry and bread game, to be sure, but everyone has something tasty to try, so feel free to shop around. Come fall, don’t miss the apple cider doughnuts towards the back of the market. They make them on site, so they are hot, fresh, and it’s impossible to wait until you get home to eat them. Impossible. 
  8. Have breakfast, a snack, or lunch! One of my favorites is a ham and cheese crepe because it feels festive, is delicious, and portable! It’s fun to watch them make the crepes right in front of you, and as a bonus, this is one of the vendors that does except credit cards. 
  9. Sit awhile and listen to some live music. It’s always someone new and this is a good time to eat your snack and enjoy the atmosphere of the market. 
  10. Admire your French market haul when you get home! This is a photo from (I think) my very first trip to the French market almost 2 years ago. I was so excited by everything there! Fresh fruit and vegetables! Flowers! Pastries! Tiny pumpkins! You never know what you’ll find on market day.

 

I hope I’ve inspired you to check out your own local French market or Farmer’s market this weekend. It’s a great Saturday morning activity and a good way to stretch your legs, enjoy the sunshine, and have some time to yourself before you begin the day.

Do you have a favorite market you like to go to during the spring and summer? What’s your favorite thing to buy? Tell me in the comments!

One thought on “The joys of a Saturday French market 

  1. Pingback: My favorite things to Eat, Drink & Do in Dupage County – Clichés & Coffee

Leave a comment